Michael R

Male

Waco, TX

United States

Profile Information:

Your Religious Status
Atheist
About Me:
I'm 50 years old and married for 30 years. My wife considers herself a christian but does not attend church regularly. She knows my thoughts but we don't discuss too much. I have two kids, a son that is 28 and a daughter that is 26. My son hasn't mentioned it but I'm sure that he is an atheist as well. My daughter is married to a christian, and am not to sure about her current status (getting concerned). I have a beautiful 1 year old granddaughter and when the time is right I will be talking to her about my beliefs. Hopefully she will use her natural talents of reason/logic to come to the same conclusions that I have.

I have a BS in Math/Computer Science and an MS in Management. Unfortunately, I also have Multiple Sclerosis which is eating away at my cognitive abilities. Visiting sites like this keeps me as sharp as possible.
Age
47-52
Why are you here?
Touch base with others that have similar viewpoints. Expand knowledge of atheism and religion.
The religion you left
Christian
Why you left your religion.
My parents brought me up as a generic protestant (army brat). I really enjoyed Sunday school but always thought of the bible stories as just stories. Nothing ever made sense to me. I always asked questions and didn't like the answers. I would then ask more questions and was labeled a trouble-maker so I began keeping my mouth shut. Luckily, my parents left my religious affiliation up to me at age 12, which I love them dearly for. No more religion for me.
Think Atheist Travel Network Couch Availability - Are you able to host anyone now?
No

Comment Wall:

  • Gaytor

    Welcome to TA Michael. It sounds like you have an interesting family dynamic there. If I can help you with anything here, please don't hesitate to ask!