I'm working on 'The New Atheist' right now and am contemplating what I should read next. I'm not sure if another book would be best, or maybe cut back to a magazine subscription for a bit. Here's the options I'm considering:

1). Book by Michael Shermer.
2). Book by Neil Tyson.
3). Subscription to 'American Atheist' magazine.
4). Subscription to 'Sceptic' magazine.
5) Subscription to 'Discover' magazine.

OK, so who has any of these subscriptions and likes them. Membership in AA sounds like a good idea, but I worry if the magazine has much more news than a larger newsletter.
If none of the subscriptions, which books would my freinds hear at TA recomend? :)

Tags: Atheist, book, magazine, read, sceptic

Views: 1

Replies to This Discussion

I never could get into my CFI or Humanist magazines. Most of that material I can get faster and better on various blogs.

I vote book. You can't go wrong with Neil deGrasse Tyson.
Thanks, I was leaning toward the books as well. My main concern with the magazines is the fact that I will probably end up reading 90% of the stories on here or elsewhere online before they even go to print.
If you haven't read Carl Sagan's The Demon-Haunted World, I highly recommend it. Not exactly atheistic per se, but definitely pro-science and pro-rationalism.
Oh yes. I've read The Demon-Haunted World, and consider it a must read for anyone.
Good! I just read it last month so I'm all excited and wanting to recommend to every single person I see, lol! :D

In all seriousness, I really do wish that Sagan's writings were included in public high school curriculum.
In all seriousness, I really do wish that Sagan's writings were included in public high school curriculum.

They should be. And a statistics class and drivers ed , too.

RSS

Discussion Forum

"Cli-fi"

Started by Don Aug 31, 2014. 0 Replies

Atheism and fiction

Started by Davis Goodman. Last reply by Davis Goodman Feb 23, 2014. 5 Replies

Events

Blog Posts

It's all Greek to me

Posted by Simon Mathews on April 15, 2015 at 4:14am 18 Comments

Free at last

Posted by Belle Rose on April 15, 2015 at 1:00am 3 Comments

Services we love!

Advertise with ThinkAtheist.com

© 2015   Created by umar.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service