I am having an online discussion with a born-again "follower of Christ" lady who says that the fact that I have so many Christians in my life challenging my atheism means that the Lord is courting me.  My response has been that I think it is because I am an outspoken atheist and the issue is very important to me, so I tend to give Christians around me reason to talk to me about it.  

What should I say to her about why this issue is so important to me without her twisting it around so that it seems I am just confused and seeking Jesus but don't know it?  

BTW, I think she thinks she is helping me to find Jesus, but she's not.  I am basically studying her.  the problem is that I can see how people can be taken in by her message.  

Views: 1082

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I would like to know how you found this forum or online chat before I can answer your question. Did you go seeking it? Is it a christian chat group?

Strangely, she is my hairdresser's cousin.  My hairdresser posted a clip on Facebook about whether or not Christians should celebrate Halloween.  I replied that I didn't have an opinion one way or the other because I'm not a Christian, but that Halloween is much less commercialized than Christmas.

Her cousin then responded with a list of things in which "we" are not supposed to participate.  She then went on to post all kinds of scripture and yadda, yadda, yadda.  She ended up messaging me and we've been having a running dialogue ever since.

I should have known!  What was I thinking?

That made me laugh rather loudly in a quiet starbucks.

Ha ha! Good one.

Same here - my family wondered what the hell I was looking at ;)

Isn't the fact that many Christians are challenging your atheism simply a function of population? I mean, you are in the Americas, where at least 3/4 of the population is Christian.