Posted this on Facebook with the text "No one can read that and not think that science is friggin' awesome," and got the following as a response. I don't know how to respond to this respectfully but informatively (I'm new at this) but I feel like I absolutely have to because this person frequently takes advantage of the "I'm a Christian so I can tell you EXACTLY how I feel but since you're an atheist, stfu!" crap.

"Very interesting, and beautiful! The complexity and awesomeness of science is so thorouhly amazing, that it always brings me back to the Creator of it all......God!! It couldnt just happen, No! It is immensely fantastic, and terrific, so it couldnt just be here...No! I love the beauty and how interesting it is, which always makes me want to be thankful, and I can only thank one Person...God! It all points us to Him! Thanks for hearing me share my piece! I appreciate science deeply! ♥"

I do find it ironic that the very short article even said that this is how life originated in our own system as well and yet she says that it couldn't happen without God. Anyone who believes the Bible cannot possibly "appreciate science." Argh.

Tags: bang, big, creationism, the

Views: 1274

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

The star erupting in that photo was formed billions of years ago - billions of years before the earth even existed.  It was formed when trillions upon trillions of metric tons of gases condensed under immense gravitational forces, igniting a inferno so unimaginably large that the earth, compared to it, is not even a speck.

The ancient mythology of which you speak defines the deity of whom you speak as creating the earth 6,000 years ago and THEN putting 'the stars' up, as an afterthought, to mark our seasons here on earth.  How can you possibly draw a relationship between the two?

I find the comparison akin to drawing parallels between Stephen Hawking and Jack, who traded his family's grocery money for magic beans.