Evolution and the Problem it May Cause for the Search for Extraterrestrial Life

Okay, I'm no scientist... but I wanted to make this proposal.
I have noticed for some time now a possible flaw in the search for life on other planets. In many cases both the media AND scientists seem to imagine life as looking at least somewhat similar to life on Earth... plants, animalistic things, etc.

I think that this approach may seriously limit or even block the search by making it so that scientists may not recognize life when they find it.

All of the structure of life that are familliar to us are results of 3 billion years of the evolution of life ON EARTH!! The evolution of everything we know of has occurred as natural selection responded to changes in the environments that organisms lived in. Mass Extinctions caused enormous twists and turns in evolutionary history and defined everything we have today. Conditions that have existed and do exist on our planet may not have occurred on another life bearing planet. The only thing we REALLY know to be consistent is the original primordial soup of chemicals required for the evolution of the earliest life forms. Everything else, from organism kingdoms, to structures of organisms [from the limbs, eyes, and vertebrae of animals, to the stems, leaves, and photosynthesis of plants, all the way down to the organelles in microorganisms!!] ALL of that was the result of natural selection which only went the way it did BECAUSE IT WAS IN A CERTAIN ENVIRONMENT AT A CERTAIN TIME!!

There really is no telling what kind of life forms could have evolved on another planet!

Scientists say that a most basic thing that could indicate life on another planet is the existence of water.

Actually... that might not be true. While water is required for the original primordial soup, there is no telling if evolution may have evolved organisms out of a need for it.