If this sounds weird you will have to tolerate me. For as long as I can remember everytime I meet people and my being left-handed would be exposed ( Say maybe, I have to use a pen etc) some people would ask me if I am creative- with the assumption that left handed people are all creative. (Of course I am a published author of two Novels and a collection of poems). However I still need to find out if is there a  factual proveable reason behind the assumption/ or the thinking that all lefthanded humans are creative by virtue of them 'using the left side of the brain'?.

Is there a followable scientifical lineage of creative humans( in arts, science, politics etc) who, if they were not left handed, they would not have achieved or contributed to human civilisation?  

Views: 833

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

It would be a very interesting study. I think it worth taking a look at, because I'm right handed and my sister is left handed, and she is a fine artist. I can't draw for shit, but between the two of us, I'm more creative, but she is more creatful, forgive me for making up a word to make a point. I imagine things much more easily, and between the stories that we both write, mine are usually far more imaginative. Not necessarily better, mind you, but they branch off in ways that are unexpected.

GOD HATES LEFTIES!

The feeling is mutual, (but since he doesn't exist, then that won't really work).

Actually most of us piano players are good with both hands ;)

I think most lefties tend to be ambidextrous, my old boss which was also lefty I overheard saying that I'm somewhat ambidextrous. I really don't think about it much but I try to get my right hand to do things.