Are there any?

Views: 27

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I have a few girl friends in the military and they have more strength and will power then most guys I know hands down. guess what? They are atheists! I am proud of them :)
I was a soldier in the U.S military. I went and stayed in Iraq for 14 months. There are plenty of Atheist in the Army, but that doesn't make it any more comforting. Before going on mission, or before a ceremony, someone usually says "let's bow our heads", at this point I would usually walk away or just stand there and wait for them to be done. Chaplains are kind, but altogether hypocrites. There are also stories which float around of soldiers who are refused promotion because of their beliefs or lack there-of. Regardless, I just wanted to know what people thought and possibly dispel a little myth.

Fun-Fact: My dog-tags have Atheist as my religious pref. For a time, I played around with them, changing my religions from: Shintoism, Buddhism, Taoist, and now finally Atheist. Initially, I had No--rel-pref printed on them, but another soldier told me to put Atheism; otherwise, if I died I would receive a Christian burial.
wow I never thought about that Trunx, "but another soldier told me to put Atheism; otherwise, if I died I would receive a Christian burial."
When I hear this line I usually say (just to be irritating) "Yes there ARE no atheist in fox holes, cos they are off being courageous while the christians and the rest are cowering in the fox hole praying to save themselves"
haha!
Nice!!