Context of the question: I am a nursing student that was given a case study of alcoholism. The subject of the study claims to be atheist.

Question: What are some therapeutic options for alcoholism (including physical dependance) that would be acceptable to an atheist? (Side question, should atheist be capitalized like Deaf person is?)

I can defend my reasoning why the client should not be required to attend AA. I need other treatment options that would be acceptable that do not include the 12 steps.

Thank you.

Views: 1015

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

There are a few secular recovery groups. Here's a link that includes descriptions of the different organizations, as well as links to their official sites: http://www.addictionrecoveryguide.org/resources/recovery/rational_a...

It should be noted that AA has a lower success rate in abstinence-from-alcohol than people who quit "cold turkey" without such a program. There is no good psychological reason to think telling people they are powerless and utterly dependent will help them gain the tools necessary to address their emotional problems in non-destructive ways.

Most people who drink too much are DEPRESSED. Treating their depression while they abstain from alcohol (which makes depression worse) through a combination of talk therapy and anti-depressant medication is much more likely to solve their BEHAVIORAL problem of self-medicating with alcohol. (

Signed, ex-wife of an alcoholic and resentful ex Al-Anon cult member.

I have heard that AA is no more effective and less effective than the "no treatment" option. DO you know of any studies that specifically make this claim?

AA says that their program is 100% effective.  It's the no true scottsman fallacy ... 

If you drift away from AA , then you didn't actually take the program seriously.  If you attend all the meetings for 30 years and relapse, it's because you didn't properly follow through with one of the 12 steps, yada yada yada.