Physics, Astronomy, Cosmology (50)

Featured Discussions

Understanding Coincidence

We attach a lot of meaning to coincidences. On the one hand, we see them as significant; on the other hand, you have the TV show detective…

Started by UnseenLatest Reply

Discussions Replies Latest Activity

Why do Atheists have to be freaking science experts?

I like science as much as the next Atheist, but I'm no expert and don't have the background to expound on the details of scientifically bas…

Started by Kirk LeFou

71 May 13
Reply by Kel

New theory of cosmic origin implies no Big Bang

And this one is actually published in a peer reviewed journal. Read about it in plain English, though, here and here.

Started by Unseen

54 Mar 1
Reply by Michael

Earth's Magnetic Field....

Occam's Razor just got a sharpening :-) Just out yesterday: source Earth's magnetic field is crucial for our existence, as it shields the…

Started by Belle Rose

106 Feb 15
Reply by Unseen

The Pope admits that God is not omnipotent and Big Bang and evolution are real... (WTF!)

The theories of evolution and the Big Bang are real and God is not “a magician with a magic wand”, Pope Francis has declared. Speaking at t…

Started by Unseen

55 Nov 18, 2014
Reply by Unseen

So, maybe there's no such thing as a black hole!

According to a recent scientific article by physicist Laura Mersini-Houghton, it appears that black holes are impossible. If that article i…

Started by Unseen

0 Sep 29, 2014

What is "Rational thinking"?

We hear the word "rational" thrown around a lot.  I like to think I am a rational person but I often find some moments where I need to stru…

Started by Roy Plisko

196 Sep 9, 2014
Reply by Unseen

The end is nigh! Well, nigher anyway. And it's scientists, not apocalyptic Christians saying it!

The laws of physics aren't written in granite, it seems. Not only may there have been a period of inflation after The Big Bang in which the…

Started by Unseen

2 Sep 8, 2014